top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureK.D. DeFehr

Dance & Sing in the Shower

I might get to folding

my laundry,

do dishes,

pull weeds,

or even organize my office today.

But first,

I must dance and sing in the shower.


I might write a poem,

clean my axolotl’s tank,

take the dogs for a walk,

watch a documentary,

or groom the cats.

But first,

I must dance and sing in the shower.


I might make myself a hearty breakfast,

prepare a cup of hot tea,

only to forget it so it grows cold

while I take a nap

or submit a short story for publishing.

But first,

I must dance and sing in the shower.


For I’m not sure how to feel alive otherwise these days.

Not sure how to praise myself for accomplishing a list of tasks when I’m

only to find myself restless under covers and sheets

by nightfall,

wishing I’d only found a moment for myself

to dance and sing in the shower.


© Original work of Kailey Dawne DeFehr

Recent Posts

See All

Our Mess

The only thing worse than a messy kitchen is an empty one.

In death, do we part?

In death, do we part? - by K.D. DeFehr The promise is this: an existence without sadness, sickness or loss; an eternity with loved ones, as long as they, too, die worthy. © Original work of Kailey Daw

Dry Damage

"This slicing in face-first, this full contact festival of water on hot skin. This cold wet everywhere awakeness, first aid for the dry damage" ------ “In which skinny dipping temporarily fixes a life

bottom of page